Tags

Crepes are fabulous. Yummy, light, easy and perfect for a lazy sunday morning.

I use this Basic Crepes recipe from All Recipes. Flour, eggs, water, butter, milk and salt. Poof!

Mix everything is a bowl and whisk until smooth. The batter is actually quite runny, which surprised me… but no worries it worked perfectly.

I sprayed my little non-stick pan with vegetable cooking spray and turned the burner on high.

Then I poured a litte less than a 1/4 cup of batter into the pan and swirled it around so the entire pan had an even coating of batter. The recipe says to cooke it for 2 minutes on each side, but I don’t like my crepes too brown. I just eye it until the crepe easily frees itself from the pan and it begins to lightly color. Flip!Cooking Crepes

In the meantime I cut up some strawberries and added some lemon and sugar. Let that sit for a few minutes so there is a nice syrup developing. In a small sauce pan I added a thinly sliced apple, a 1/2 cup of water and teaspoon of sugar. Let that boil until the apples get soft and the water is almost all evaporated. Viola apple sauce!

And here is the cast of characters: Apple sauce, Strawberries, Honey, Cinnamon.

Combine as you like! Here is Apple, Cinnamon and Honey.

All Done! Anyone else have good combinations for crepe toppings? Perhaps I will have to try a savory lunch/dinner crepe sometime!

Enjoy!

~C+S

